top of page
Search
  • daberfloicde

How to Clean a Laminate Floor


Cleaning laminate floors is easy, but you have to be careful. You can end up making permanent marks if you don't know how to care for your new floor.


Laminate floors need special care. The most important thing to remember is to NOT GET IT OVERLY WET. If something is spilled, clean it up right away! Even damp materials left too long on the floor can leave a permanent mark. When washing to floor, use only a DAMP mop or towel... no puddles of water!


What I usually do is clean my kitchen (tile) floor first. I like Murphy's Oil Soap or Dr. Bronner's soaps. They are very gentle and smell great. Anyway, after scrubbing the tile, I wipe up remaining water with an old towel.


Then, I take the damp towel (which is really pretty clean because remember, I just scrubbed the floor), I wipe the laminate floor. I just sort of skooch it around with my foot, really. This seems to do the trick. Alternatively, if you aren't scrubbing the tile and the laminate needs to be cleaned use a mop like the one shown.


Laminate floors get finger (toe?) prints on them easily. Even the cat leaves prints on my laminate floors. You can "touch up" buy spraying some gentle spray cleaner and wiping it away with an old cloth diaper or towel.


Want to hire someone to clean your house. Hire My Maid in a Minute


Tips & Warnings


In the event that your laminate floor does get overly wet and wetness is allowed to soak in, the nice thing is that you can simply replace the affected boards. However, this might mean dismantling the flooring in half the room to get to the damaged area.


Above all... DO NOT get the floor overly wet. It will discolor or the "boards" will develop a kind of bubbled looking appearance. Remember, all that laminate floor is really, is a PHOTOGRAPH of wood with a coating over it.


Honestly, if I had to do this over, I'd get real wood flooring.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page